Review: Rock + Roll Nerd The Tim Minchin Story


It’s hard not to like Tim Minchin, the awarding winning actor and comedian is a highly talented and personable individual who has been performing comedy and producing DVDs (in his current style) since 2005. This DVD however is NOT a taping of a performance with some behind the scenes stuff thrown in; it is a documentary detailing Tim’s life from 2004 to 2006 and contains only a handful of his songs and clips of stand up. Continue reading Review: Rock + Roll Nerd The Tim Minchin Story

Obama’s hip and Palin’s Gangsta

The U.S election is coming to an end soon so each party’s supporters are pulling out all the stops to promote the people they want to lead America for the next four years. First up is old school style hip hop artist MC Yogi who believes Barrack Obama to be the future and he tells it in his song Vote for Hope and it’s highly stylised video.

On the republican side things are a bit bleaker when it comes to young voters especially with John McCain’s Vice Presidential candidate Sarah Palin getting berated in the media and on the internet. So in a smart decision Palin has gone from shying away from the media to full on embracing it in a hilarious appearance on Saturday Night Live.

Source: Vimeo | NBC

Scott Edgar and the Universe

Scott Edgar and the Universe

Scott Edgar and the Universe’s self titled album is already out and available for your aural enjoyment, but it is officially launching at a performance in Melbourne next Wednesday.

1. Trapped in a Constable
2. Hole In the Head Man
3. Alone
4. Tattoos
5. The Ballad of Osiris Stark
6. Under a Hotel Room Moon
7. Stuyveys
8. One Lost Dog
9. The Sofa Song
10. Odetta
11. Back to the Sea
12. Sydney
13. Met My Match
14. Elephants

Continue reading Scott Edgar and the Universe

Transformers Soundtrack


With the Transformers movie blasting into movie theaters June 28, the official soundtrack has been announced for the movie. Just glancing at some of the artists i can tell its gonna be a kick arse soundtrack. I mean Linkin Park, Disturbed and Styles of Beyond on one album…what more could you want?

01. Linkin Park – What I’ve Done
02. Smashing Pumpkins – Doomsday Clock
03. Disturbed – This Moment
04. Goo Goo Dolls – Before It’s Too Late (Sam and Mikaela’s Theme)
05. The Used – Pretty Handsome Awkward
06. HIM – Passion’s Killing Floor
07. Taking Back Sunday – What It Feels Like To Be A Ghost
08. Styles of Beyond – Second 2 None (feat. Mike Shinoda)*
09. Armor For Sleep – End of the World
10. Idiot Pilot – Retina and the Sky
11. Julien-K – Technical Difficulties
12. Mute Math – Transformers Theme


Upcoming Concerts

Right now if you click on the link to the left called Music Reviews you will see our resident music professionado Ben has reviewed Xzibit’s Full Circle, and Stone Sour’s Come What(ever) May. In what can only be described as a kick-arse coincidence, both artists have Australian tours coming up very soon. In fact Stone Sour’s is this coming week so act quickly. So check out the reviews and if you want to go see these rock and rap legends live just check out the information and links below.

Stone Sour – Come What(ever) May tour:


Sun 13 May 2007 8:00pm, The Palace Complex VIC – MELBOURNE Strictly OVER 18’s ONLY

Tue 15 May 2007 8:00pm, Enmore Theatre NSW – SYDNEY

Thu 17 May 2007 8:00pm, The Arena Entertainment Complex QLD – BRISBANE

Xzibit – Full Circle tour:


Fri 22 Jun 2007, The Big Top at Luna Park NSW – SYDNEY

Sat 23 Jun 2007, The Arena Entertainment Complex QLD – BRISBANE

Fri 29 Jun 2007, Metro Nightclub VIC – MELBOURNE Strictly OVER 18’s ONLY

Fun “Fact”: Ben won’t be able to go to the Stone Sour concert as he doesn’t turn 18 until June. Aww poor Benny. 🙁

A Night In Fantasia 2007 – Track List Released!


For those of you who don’t know, Eminence are an Australian orchestra group, dedicated to providing a moving and unique live experience via large scale orchestrations of popular, and mainly geeky scores.

A Night In Fantasia is one Eminence event, dedicated to the recent and past masterpieces used in games. Featuring scores from the Final Fantasy series, Metal Gear solid series, and many many more, the event consists of a 60 piece orchestra and choir. It’s playing Sydney on the 20th and 21st of April, and Melbourne on the 27th. This concert has been planned for quite some time now, it’s no new news, except that just recently the set list of scores to be played has been released.

You can check out the official flash site, or purchase tickets via the Eminence site here. For now though, I present you with the full line up of what’s to be played in April.

SPOILERS (I guess) – If you’re attending or interested in this event and don’t want to know the set list, then don’t read below. Still scroll further down the site for other awesome stories though.

1st Half

* Final Fantasy XII – Opening Theme (composed by Hitoshi Sakimoto)

* Deltora Quest – Deltora Main Title (composed by Hitoshi Sakimoto)

* Romeo + Juliet – Hisyou (composed by Hitoshi Sakimoto)

* Legend of Mana – Title Theme (composed by Yoko Shimomura)

* Xenosaga Episode I – Gnosis (composed by Yasunori Mitsuda)

* Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater – Main Theme from Metal Gear Solid 2 and 3 (composed by Harry Gregson-Williams)

* Super Mario Bros. – Super Mario Bros. theme (composed by Koji Kondo)

* Tekken: Dark Resurrection – Sunrise (composed by Go Shiina)

* Kyou kara Mao – Hero (composed by Go Shiina)

* Final Fantasy VII – Ternai-Divinity I (composed by Nobuo Uematsu)

2nd Half

* Shadow of the Colossus – Revived Power-Battle With the Colossus (composed by Koh Ohtani)

* Shadow of the Colossus – Swift Horse (composed by Koh Ohtani)

* Shadow of the Colossus – Counterattack-Battle With the Colossus (composed by Koh Ohtani)

* World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade – Title Theme

* Tales of Legendia – Requiem (composed by Go Shiina)

* SoulCalibur III – Path of Destiny (composed by Junichi Nakatsuru)

* Tales of Legendia – The Prayers Become Power (composed by Go Shiina)

* Odine Sphere – Odine Sphere (composed by Hitoshi Sakimoto)

* Tales of Legendia – To Deliver the Feelings (composed by Go Shiina)

* Xenosaga Episode I – Zarathustra (composed by Yasunori Mitsuda)

* Xenosaga Episode I – World to be Born (composed by Yasunori Mitsuda)

* The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess – Orchestra Piece (composed by Michiru Ooshima)

* Kingdom Hearts II – Fantasia Alla Marcle for Piano, Chorus and Orchestra (composed by Yoko Shimomura)

Linkin Park Counts Down the Minutes to Midnight

LP gp

Linkin Park has just finished recording their highly anticipated third studio album. Minutes to Midnight will be released May 15. Today their first single off the album titled “What I’ve Done” hit Australian radio waves. Judging from “What I’ve Done” this is gonna be a kick arse album.

Linkin Park – What I’ve Done: